The eco-responsible living environment

  • Home
  • The eco-responsible living environment

Our engagement : preserve the environment as much as possible, use or consume natural materials and products, and to favor in all respects the use of human resources and natural resources of our village and the surrounding villages, by adapting, if necessary, the hotel service to these two priorities.

Local jobs, for a circular economy

All the fittings and constructions of the hotel were carried out by masons, carpenters, carpenters, workers within a radius of 5 km, and they always take care of it. The highly technical work was entrusted to companies from Antananarivo, but their maintenance is ensured by plumbers, electricians, Sainte Marie mechanics.
All hotel employees were recruited from the villages around Sainte Marie Lodge, and have been patiently trained in hospitality and tourism trades : housekeeping and laundry, cuisine, maintenance of green areas, guidance, etc.. We are not "little proud" of the result ! Each of our employees has been able to adapt to the Western way of life while maintaining their Saint-Marienne identity, thus creating real cohesion.
Today, all of our staff and ourselves are vaccinated against Covid to protect you ! And for obvious reasons, we are "on horseback" on the basics of hygiene and prevention. Every day, with or without client, all rooms are ventilated, cleaned and defective equipment is immediately reported and replaced.

Responsible purchasing and water management

For constructions and installations, everything is local and made of natural materials except cement : For concrete, granite carving and quarrying from Maromandia, sand end of Anivorano ; for roofs, partitions and furniture, hardwoods like Nanto and Intsy, and other natural materials, like the leaves of the traveler's tree (Ravenala), the raffia palm, the Penjy and the assembly lianas. The materials used for the dining room are mainly wood, guarantee of sustainability.
The water falls abundantly at Sainte Marie, two meters of precipitation per year ... but runs directly into the sea, and from October to December, very little rain. We must therefore avoid wasting it. We operate with a well and a pluvarium, collecting water from the roofs in large reserves (20 m3). On the other hand, we closely manage the consumption of showers, with economical equipment and time slots for the use of showers intelligently adapted to your needs, before breakfast and before dinner. Laundry and dishes are done by hand, no aquavores machines !

The agroecological cooperative : Terre Saint-Marienne

Saint-Mariens consume very few vegetables, their staple food is rice, cassava and some brèdes. Until now, the only market on the island supplied us with vegetables imported from the mainland, harvested a week before arriving, and transported in deplorable conditions : no cold chain, waiting for the boat for several days in overheated premises, manipulations multiples.
In front of the quality of their production, very weak but so tasty, we help them develop a market gardening cooperative.
We are thus encouraging our neighboring farmers to grow tomatoes., courgettes, eggplants and salads in particular. We have laid the foundations, and received many donations from individuals. Vegetable garden “school”, greenhouse for seedlings, rigorously selected natural fertilizers and Malagasy seeds, this beautiful investment in which Sainte Marie Lodge participates for approximately 25% was initiated in March 2021, and is accompanied by a training program and agricultural technical monitoring over several years.
All the production is marketed on the island, outlets are guaranteed for years, and will allow this source of comfortable income to be developed for at least 20 new farmers and their families.

Energy and waste

The north of Sainte Marie is not electrified ... which explains the virtual absence of tourist facilities, and thus preserves the authenticity of the environment and the nonchalance of the villagers from the nuisances of over-frequentation.
The most economical solution, was to equip itself with a large diesel generator, super polluting. What we did at the beginning ... Since 2017, we have made the choice to minimize electricity consumption as much as possible, and fuel pollution.
A solar installation now provides for lighting and small equipment needs, kind chargers, TV and wifi, and refrigerated food storage, using the most efficient equipment in terms of electricity consumption.
The filtration pumps for the swimming pool and the water supply to the water chambers consume too much for solar energy, we have selected the best material, and we can limit their operation to about 7 hours per day, with small gasoline generators.
Ultimately, we were able to drastically reduce our pollution, from about 40 liters of diesel per day in 2012 to 7 liters of gasoline today. Waiting for better, "zero energy pollution" is not far away!
We produce very little waste, working as much as possible with fresh or bulk products. Everything that can be is cremated, and the little that remains is buried. Human waste is disposed of with natural septic tanks, without using any chemicals.

Registration

Forgotten Password?

Le cadre de vie écoresponsable

  • Home
  • Le cadre de vie écoresponsable

Notre engagement : préserver au maximum l’environnement, utiliser ou consommer les matériaux et produits naturels, et privilégier en tout point l’emploi des ressources humaines et des ressources naturelles de notre village et des villages environnants, en adaptant si nécessaire la prestation hôtelière à ces deux priorités.

Des emplois locaux, pour une économie circulaire

Tous les aménagements et constructions de l’hôtel ont été réalisées par des maçons, charpentiers, menuisiers, ouvriers exerçant dans un rayon de 5 km, et ils en assurent toujours l’entretien. Les travaux très techniques ont été confiés à des entreprises de Tananarive, mais leur entretien est assuré par des plombiers, électriciens, mécaniciens de Sainte Marie.
Tous les employés de l’hôtel ont été recrutés dans les villages autour de Sainte Marie Lodge, et ont été patiemment formés aux métiers de l’hôtellerie et du tourisme : ménage et blanchisserie, cuisine, entretien des espaces verts, guidage, etc. Nous ne sommes pas « peu fiers » du résultat ! Chacun de nos employés a su s’adapter au mode de vie occidentale tout en conservant leur identité saint-marienne créant ainsi une véritable cohésion.
Aujourd’hui, tout notre personnel et nous-mêmes sommes vaccinés contre la Covid pour vous protéger ! Et pour des raisons évidentes, nous sommes « à cheval » sur les bases d’hygiène et de prévention. Chaque jour, avec ou sans client, tous les locaux sont aérés, nettoyés et le matériel défectueux est immédiatement signalé et remplacé.

Achats responsables et gestion de l’eau

Pour les constructions et installations, tout est local et en matériaux naturels sauf le ciment : Pour le béton, gravier et moellons en granit de Maromandia, sable fin d’Anivorano ; pour les toits, cloisons et mobilier, bois durs comme le Nanto et l’Intsy, et autres matériaux naturels, comme les feuilles de l’arbre du voyageur (Ravenala), le palmier Raphia, le Penjy et les lianes d’assemblage. Les matériaux utilisés pour la salle-à-manger sont essentiellement en bois, gage de durabilité.
L’eau tombe abondamment à Sainte Marie, deux mètres de précipitations par an … mais ruisselle directement à la mer, et d’octobre à décembre, très peu de pluie. Il faut donc éviter de la gaspiller. Nous fonctionnons avec un puit et un pluvarium, récupérant l’eau sur les toits dans de grandes réserves (20 m3). D’autre part, nous gérons de près la consommation des douches, avec des équipements économes et des plages horaires d’utilisation des douches intelligemment adaptées à vos besoins, avant le petit déjeuner et avant le dîner. La blanchisserie et la vaisselle sont faites à la main, pas de machines aquavores !

La Coopérative agroécologique : Terre Saint-Marienne

Les saint-mariens consomment très peu de légumes, leur nourriture de base est riz, manioc et quelques brèdes. Jusqu’à présent, l’unique marché de l’île nous approvisionnait en légumes importés de la grande terre, récoltés une semaine avant d’arriver, et acheminés dans des conditions déplorables : pas de chaine du froid, attente du bateau plusieurs jours dans des locaux surchauffés, manipulations multiples.
Devant la qualité de leur production, très faible mais tellement savoureuse, nous les aidons à développer une coopérative maraichère.
Nous encourageons ainsi nos agriculteurs voisins à cultiver des tomates, courgettes, aubergines et salades notamment. Nous en avons posé les bases, et obtenu de nombreux dons de particuliers et une subvention de la Banque Mondiale. Adduction d’eau sur les potagers, chambre froide solaire, serre pour les semis, engrais naturels et semences malgaches rigoureusement sélectionnées, ce bel investissement auquel Sainte Marie Lodge participe pour environ 25% a été initié en mars 2021, et s’accompagne d’un programme de formation et d’un suivi technique agricole sur plusieurs années.
Toute la production est commercialisée sur l’île, les débouchés sont assurés pour des années, et permettront de développer cette source de revenus confortables pour au moins 20 nouveaux agriculteurs et leur famille.

L’énergie et les déchets

Le nord de Sainte Marie n’est pas électrifié … ce qui explique la quasi absence d’équipements touristiques, et préserve ainsi des nuisances de la sur-fréquentation l’authenticité de l’environnement et la nonchalance des villageois.
La solution la plus économique, était de s’équiper d’un gros groupe électrogène diésel, super polluant. Ce que nous avons fait au début … Depuis 2017, nous avons fait le choix de minimiser au maximum la consommation d’électricité, et la pollution des carburants.
Une installation solaire pourvoit désormais aux besoins d’éclairage et petits équipements, genre chargeurs, TV et wifi, et de conservation frigorifique des aliments, en utilisant les matériels les plus performants en matière de consommation électrique.
Les pompes de filtration de la piscine et d’alimentation des chambres en eau sont trop fortes consommatrices pour du solaire, nous avons sélectionné le meilleur matériel, et nous pouvons limiter leur fonctionnement à environ 7 heures par jour, avec des petits groupes électrogènes à essence.
Finalement, nous avons pu réduire drastiquement notre pollution, passant d’environ 40 litres de gasoil par jour en 2012 à 7 litres d’essence aujourd’hui. En attendant mieux, le « zéro pollution énergétique » n’est pas loin!
Nous produisons très peu de déchets, travaillant au maximum avec des produits frais ou achetés en vrac. Tout ce qui peut l’être est incinéré, et le peu qui reste est enfoui. Les déchets humains sont éliminés avec des fosses septiques naturelles, sans utiliser le moindre produit chimique.

Registration

Mot de passe oublié?